Committee on DIB

The SEAS Committee on Diversity, Inclusion, and Belonging was convened  by Dean Frank Doyle in October 2017. The committee held its first meeting on November 30, 2017 and established five priority areas:

  1. Recruitment and Access

  2. Community Engagement

  3. Retention and Success

  4. Assessment and Tracking

  5. Outreach to the Broader External Community

These areas serve as subcommittees of the SEAS Committee on Diversity, Inclusion, and Belonging.


To create a long-term (e.g., five-year) strategic plan that is based on qualitative and quantitative data and evidence-based best practices, for increasing the diversity of SEAS and cultivating a more inclusive and welcoming environment for all stakeholder groups. The strategic plan will: outline how SEAS defines diversity and inclusion; articulate a rationale; and formulate specific, measurable goals. The committee will also develop strategies, initiatives, and programs that will advance the diversity goals, and assist relevant offices, departments, and stakeholder groups with the systematic implementation of the plan. In addition, the committee is charged with creating opportunities for community-wide engagement and feedback, as well as continuous assessment and updating of the SEAS Diversity Strategic Plan. 


Paula Nicole Booke chair, Assistant Dean of Diversity, Inclusion, and Belonging

Diane Schneeberger, co-vice chair, Assistant Dean for Faculty Affairs

Steven Wofsy, co-vice chair, Abbott Lawrence Rotch Professor of Atmospheric and Environmental Science


Stephanie Gil, Assistant Professor of Computer Science

Jia Liu, Assistant Professor of Bioengineering

Vinny Manoharan, Wagner Family Professor of Chemical Engineering and Professor of Physics

Robert Westervelt, Mallinckrodt Professor of Applied Physics and Physics


Allison Choat, Faulty Coordinator

Kathryn Hollar, Director of Community Engagement and Diversity Outreach

Sarah Iams, Staff Co-Director of Undergraduate Studies in Applied Mathematics; Lecturer of Applied Mathematics

Paul Karoff, ex officio, Associate Dean for Communications and Strategic Priorities

Christina Z. Patel, Manager for Advising Programs and Diversity Outreach

Gladys Prins, Faculty Coordinator

Brandon Tilghman, Academic Appointments Manager

Patrick Ulrich, Director for Undergraduate Education-Administration

Jennifer Vasquez, Administrative Coordinator for Academic Operations

Undergraduate Students

Kavya Kopparapu (Computer Science)

Conlan Olson (Mathematics/Computer Science)

Daniela Shuman (Computer Science)

Graduate Students

Buse Aktas (Mechanical Engineering, Robotics)


Postdoctoral Researchers

Benjamin Freedman (Mooney Group)

Natalie Larson (Lewis Group)

Virah Shah (Jacob Group)


If you are interested in serving on the SEAS Committee on Diversity, Inclusion, and Belonging, please contact us at