David Parkes

David Parkes


Dean David Parkes manages new faculty recruitment and faculty relations (authorizes faculty searches; directs and approves promotion reviews; approves special appointments); leads strategic planning for SEAS (vision; financial needs; represents SEAS to other Harvard University deans, as well as the President and Provost); coordinates fundraising and alumni relations; determines and implements educational, research, and administrative goals.

Lene V. Hau

Academic Dean for Education

Frank N Keutsch

Academic Dean for Research

Todd Zickler

Academic Dean for Finance and Strategic Priorities

Area Chairs

Area Chairs are a clear single point of responsibility for each academic concentration (existing and proposed) and are responsible for mentoring tenure-track faculty and for the oversight of Area-related searches, reviews, and promotions.

Daniel Jacob

Daniel J. Jacob

Area Chair for Environmental Science and Engineering

Petros Koumoutsakos

Petros Koumoutsakos

Area Chair for Applied Mathematics

Jennifer Lewis

Jennifer Lewis

Area Chair for Bioengineering

Vinothan N. Manoharan

Vinothan N. Manoharan

Area Chair for Applied Physics

Stuart M. Shieber

Area Chair for Computer Science

Joost J. Vlassak

Joost J. Vlassak

Area Chair for Materials Science and Mechanical Engineering

Gu-Yeon Wei

Gu-Yeon Wei

Area Chair for Electrical Engineering


Oversees planning for all strategic aspects of the organization, including: finance and budget, administration and staffing, physical resources and space, IT, resource development, communications, and the fundraising campaign, including financial relationships with FAS, other Schools and the Center, and enhanced space, financial, and campus planning for Allston and the Campaign.

Paula Booke

Paula Nicole Booke

Assistant Dean for Diversity, Inclusion, and Belonging

Tim Bowman

Dean for Administration and Finance

Leah Burrows

Associate Dean for Communications and Strategic Priorities

Anas Chalah

Anas Chalah

Assistant Dean for Teaching and Learning

Catherine Chute

Catherine A. Chute

Assistant Dean for Professional Programs

Rebecca M Ginzburg

Chief of Staff

David Hwang

David Hwang

Dean for Research

Kim Harris

Kimberly Harris

Assistant Dean for Human Resources

Rebecca Nesson

Rebecca Nancy Nesson

Dean for Academic Programs

Pamela Choi Redfern

Assistant Dean for Space Planning and Design

Leslie Schaffer

Leslie E Schaffer

Associate Dean for Finance

Diane L. Schneeberger

Assistant Dean for Faculty Affairs

Jim Waldo

James H. Waldo

Chief Technology Officer


Chaired by the Dean, this group provides counsel and guidance on important matters that span finance, administration, faculty affairs, academic programs, research, communications, and diversity, inclusion & belonging (DIB) initiatives.

  • David Parkes (Chair)

  • Paula Booke (E-O)

  • Tim Bowman (E-O)

  • Lene V. Hau (Academic Dean for Education)

  • David Hwang (E-O)

  • Daniel J. Jacob (ESE Area Chair)

  • Frank N Keutsch (Academic Dean for Research)

  • Petros Koumoutsakos (AM Area Chair)

  • Jennifer Lewis (BIO Area Chair)

  • Vinothan N. Manoharan (AP Area Chair)

  • Rebecca Nesson (E-O)

  • Diane Schneeberger (E-O)

  • Stuart Shieber (CS Area Chair)

  • Joost Vlassak (MSME Area Chair)

  • Gu-Yeon Wei (EE Area Chair)

  • Todd Zickler (Academic Dean for Finance and Strategic Priorities)

Ex-officio (E-O) indicates that the committee member is included on the committee because of their main role at SEAS.